Cabalen with Friends

I count down the years where I am unable to meet with such good old friends. I have friends from my college years that I miss so, and friends from previous jobs that spark so many joyous memories from my mind. And as one of us arrived home from a different country, I am so happy that a reunion was planned.

 

 

Cabalen is a filipino themed restaurant that offers an “Eat All You Can” banquet. I rarely choose to eat Filipino food out, as we eat them at home on a daily basis. I think this is perfect for “balik bayans” who miss home cooked meals from our country, and a perfect place to meet with friends that have a family. They even have a dessert table, including a chocolate fountain to dip bananas or marshmallows. I had to force the beau to take a bite from the chocolate coated marshmallow I had on a stick, he doesn’t eat marshmallows. Odd one.

 

 

I opted to eat Kare kare mainly. I had added some meats in to try. The lechon was delicious, juicy and made me want to have more… Ofcourse, I was too shy to grab another bite. The kare kare was okay, but they do not skimp on the ingredients except that they lack the vegetables that I usually see on more home cooked ones. Beau on the other hand, chose to have a plateful of food.

 

This. On the other hand… is the best one of all the food being served there. I had to have another helping, and another. Its batter dipped kang kong with a sort of sour cream dip. I think I would eat at Cabalen again just for this! I feel myself salivating right now as I type. You must try it!

 

Aside from the food that left us in a food coma (our tummy were so full I couldn’t even think of buying Milk Tea for that day!), the chance to finally be with the people who made me smile and laugh in a stressful environment again was the main course of that day. I wish for more reunions.

 

Baby Freedom with the beautiful gray eyes.

 

 

It has been so long that we all have our own families. We used to spend our time drinking alcohol and making a ruckus. Such beautiful families and smiles, and memories.

 

 

Here is a look at what the Greenbelt branch looked like. Ofcourse I chose to blur myself. 😛

For more information on Cabalen, here is their website. 🙂

Leave a Reply

