Everyday’s a start of something Beautiful | Family time & Nut Milk

And in the end the words won’t matter
‘Cause in the end nothing stays the same
And in the end dreams just scatter and fall like rain

-All We Are, a song by Matt Nathanson

My daughter had her birthday on the 29th of August, we prepared a simple pasta dish for her. It was a simple family day, and a happy school day for her as well when she came home telling us that her classmates sang to her. Sometimes I look at her and cannot believe how tall she has become, or how big she is already… now she is already four years old. FOUR! I am in denial that my little baby is now going to school and four years of age.

Yesterday, my sister gave her gift.. It was play time!

She went up the stairs and quickly down the slide numerous times, her favorite spot in the playground. We rarely get to play here, and I’m glad she was able to as a celebration for her birthday. She would venture the slide so many times and not getting tired of it.

If she wasn’t doing hundreds of trips down the slide, she was diving down the pool of balls they have there. These were the times where she was able to spend time with other toddlers and make almost friends.

After a tiring play date, we were off to Jollibee… or rather Jobilee, as she says it. We don’t eat there normally, but its a good place for little kids to eat Pinoy style spaghetti and chicken. Aienne ate chicken, fries and a chocolate sundae! We were expecting a major sugar rush, and indeed it happened while we were out in the kitchen department at Landmark. She kept running along aisles filling with fragile items! Thankfully, she is not a clutz like her mom. 😛

Our days are usually like a routine, a simple life wherein we eat, drink, watch food videos and kiddie movies, do homework… There are days where I throw the routine out the door and bake the whole afternoon with her. I think what makes me calm and happy is a quiet, simple life.

In ode to a simple life, I have tried making my own milk. This was made with left over slivered almonds I had in the freezer. Although usually whole almonds are used, I’ve made do with what I have. The problem was, they went rancid while they soaked overnight on the counter! Leave your nuts soaked in the fridge to prevent them for going bad.

I’ll be making a new batch as soon as I can with Cashews, but any nut will do for this!

Almond Milk

1 cup raw almonds
3 1/2 to 4 cups clean, filtered water (+ more for soaking)
pinch of sea salt
2-3 tbsp honey (use pure maple syrup or agave for a vegan alternative)
1/4 tsp cinnamon (optional)

Soak your raw almonds with filtered water overnight in the refrigerator. The next day, dump the soaked water and rinse the nuts until the water runs clear.

Blend your soft, soaked almonds with your 3 1/2 (for a slightly creamier consistency) to 4 cups of water in a blender until smooth. Pour mixture onto a nut milk bag or several layers of cheesecloth, and squeeze until all the liquid is released.

Pour your nut milk back to the blender, add your sweeteners and blend for a minute.

This will keep for about 5 days.

P.S: I’ve uploaded the photos on Photobucket and it seems that it decreases in quality. Do you guys know any sites wherein I can upload multiple files in one go? Please share! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Everyday’s a start of something Beautiful | Family time & Nut Milk

  1. Belated birthday greetings to beautiful Aienne. I pray that you grow up to be a fine lady like your mommy. Sam, your baked goods inspire me to make my own though as you can see in my Facebook pics, I still can’t assemble or frost to save my life. LOL.

    I miss Jollibee. Seriously. Iba pa rin ang Pinoy kiddie spaghetti.

    More power to your blog and business!

    • Thank you! LOL! Don’t worry, I also have difficulties in frosting cakes. XD They say that you should leave the cakes in the refrigerator for a little while so that the crumbs don’t stick to your frosting. I think I’m ready to give it another try since I’ve perfected my Swiss Meringue Buttercream already. Its thick and easy to pipe with. 🙂

      Haha! Wala pa din pong kapareho ang Jollibee spaghetti in other restos when you think about it, right?

Leave a Reply

